Road Sign Unveiled


UT Martin’s 2014 men’s rodeo team will forever be immortalized after university officials presented permanent signage in April located on University Street that touts the program’s national championship.

The Skyhawks made history after becoming the first collegiate team located east of the Mississippi River to win the national men’s rodeo team championship. 

The Skyhawks’ national championship lineup included Will Lummus (’14), Tyler Waltz (’14), Clark Adcock (’15), Tanner Phipps (’15, ’17), John Alley (’14) and Colt Kitaif (’22). Head coach John Luthi (pictured), who retired in the summer of 2022 after 25 years at the helm of the UT Martin rodeo program, attended during the dedication ceremony.

Previous Story

President Jimmy Carter Visits UT Martin

Next Story

Furry Friends

Latest from Athletics

50 Years of Title IX

No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation…

2021 OVC Champions

For the first time in 15 years, the UT Martin football team became Ohio Valley Conference…

Men’s Basketball

UT Martin’s new head men’s basketball coach Ryan Ridder holds up a number 12 jersey with…

Finding Success

A new era of the UT Martin golf program began March 1 as head coach Austin…